Our people

Meet the team

As a volunteer organisation people are with us for varying periods of time.

Rather than list every adult volunteer, we’d like to introduce you those you’re most likely to encounter in your day to day Scouting.

Senior Leadership Team

Group Scout Leader

Rob Robinson – is our Group Scout Leader and has overall responsibility for the Group. He approves all activities. It is his role to ensure the group runs effectively and that Scouting develops in accordance with the rules and policies of The Scout Association so that young people can benefit from good quality scouting.

Assistant Group Scout Leader

Shauna Garner – is our Assistant Group Scout Leader and supports Rob in his role whilst acting as his delegate.

Adult Leaders

Beaver Team

Brian Robinson – is the Section Leader of Tuesday Beavers (Castor colony), He’s been in Scouting for nearly forty years, and has volunteered in most group and district roles. We have a volunteer gap for Section Leader of our Thursday Beavers (Millstones colony), so Shauna currently works with Brian and the other volunteers to plan, run and lead our Beaver programme and events.

Cub Team

Carolyn Pinel – is the Section Leader of Tuesday Cubs (Alegre pack), We have a volunteer gap for Section Leader of our Thursday Cubs (Bella Vista pack), so Shauna and Rob currently work with Carolyn and the other volunteers to plan, run and lead our Cub programme and events.

Scout Team

Jim Dawson – is the Section Leader of Monday Scouts (Enigma troop), He’s supported by Nicky Shaw, the Assistant Section Leader.

Richard Punshon – is the Section Leader of Friday Scouts (Viernes troop). He’s supported by Richard North (also with the Cub team).

Explorers, Young Leaders and Network

Explorers are a District provision, and whilst the unit “Scorpions” has a partnership agreement with Penistone Scouts, they are part of Barnsley Explorers.

Young Leaders are attached to Barnsley Explorers, and join the Beavers, Cubs and Scouts to support the programme, events and develop their leadership skills.

Network is also a District provision, but one that we don’t currently have in Barnsley.

Executive Committee (Charity Trustees)

Group Chair

Laura Simpson – is our Group Chair. Having been an Assistant Group Scout Leader and Beaver leader previously, she’s responsible to leading and steering our trustees in their supportive goals and aims.

Group Secretary

Jonathan Westwood – is our Group Secretary. He’s also hot on compliance and data.

Group Treasurer

Edwin Burkinshaw – is our Group Treasurer and is responsible for leading the group’s financials.

Membership Secretary

Janet Worthington – is primarily responsible for our joining list. She coordinates accepting applications, placing young people and supporting the movement of young people between sections.

Facilities Management

Lucie Green – is responsible for our premises. She works with third parties on maintenance, coordinates members of our Falcons Active Support Unit and keeps the building safe.

Other trustees

Gina Robinson, Gillian Millner, Andrew Millner, Amanda Barnsley and Richard Punshon are also members of the Executive Committee and Trustees of the Charity. They are equally as important, but aren’t in named roles.

Rob and Shauna, as the Group Scout Leader team are also trustees of the charity.

Harriet is a Youth Member of the Executive Committee.